NYC’s BEST SHOPPING SECRETS. Save your cash and LOOK LIKE Serena and Blair! Seriously.

4 Apr

Lately I’ve been feeling extremely homesick. All I can think about is going to New York and visiting all my best friends. I miss popping into my friend Dahlias home at the Chelsea Hotel and my sewing with my friend Jennifer in College Point Queens. But I really wanted to write this post because I wanted to share my super affordable shopping secrets if you live or happen to be in NYC.  If you dont have Upper East Side money but want to look like you do, KEEP READING. First of all well start with shoes.  Okay, depending on where your at in NYC you may have to take the subway into Queens for these shoes BUT ITS WORTH IT! Why? Because all the shoes in this place are $5, $7 and $15. THATS RIGHT! The shoes don’t look tacky or cheap, they are super super cute!

OKAY, OKAY, I’ll tell you were I got them.

37-39 82nd Street, Jackson Heights 11372

(718)458-4272

(718)458-4657

Okay, lets move onto clothes. I love new clothes more than anything, but sometimes you just cant afford to pay top dollar for an outfit.  The GOODWILL right  by my old apartment in CHELSEA is amazing.  I promise you’ll find something Amanda Tanen-ish (Ugly Betty) here.

You’ll find items by CALVIN KLEIN, JILL STUART, MARNI, BETSEY JOHNSON, ALICE&OLIVIA and more.  They also have great vintage. I’ve bought a Betsey Johnson Dress for $13 and a Marni shirt for $7. I have the coolest Armani black leather jacket from there that I purchased for $27 dollars. OMG! I know “Goodwill” may bring up some weird connotations but this Goodwill is beyond AWESOME!

GOODWILL

BUT….. If your like my boyfriend and you must have something brand new that no one has ever worn before.

Go to DAFFYS

1311 BROADWAY AT 34th street

Here you’ll find amazing stuff for really cheap. They have BIANNUAL sales first two weeks of January and July. I bought a light blue faux fur XOXO jacket for $3.00. Yes, I’m serious and its adorable!

SADLY DAFFYS IS NOW CLOSED SORRY 3/30/13 R.I.P DAFFYS

I hope this helps some frugal fashionistas. I still don’t know where to get amazing deals like this in San Francisco but if you have any New York Shopping questions, feel free to ask away.

XOXO,

lilajuliet.etsy.com

lilajulietheadbands.com

2 Responses to “NYC’s BEST SHOPPING SECRETS. Save your cash and LOOK LIKE Serena and Blair! Seriously.”

  1. fromlaurawithlove April 5, 2010 at 2:08 am #

    I’m just planning a trip to NYC, mostly influenced by the shopping opportunities there, so thank you for this post! :) Seems like great tips.

    x Laura

    • lilajuliet April 5, 2010 at 4:59 am #

      Your welcome Laura. 34th street will be crowded but stay and explore that area anyway! Near Daffys there is a Sephora and other shops that are independantly owned. The $5 shoe store in Queens is amazing, I miss it! Have a great time in NYC!
      XOXO,
      Lilajuliet.etsy.com

Leave a Reply

